Belated thank you from a television broadcast engineer

The Warlock, the Warlock's Heirs, and the Rogue Wizard.
arfunk
PostsCOLON 2
JoinedCOLON Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:18 pm

Belated thank you from a television broadcast engineer

Postby arfunk » Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:22 pm

As a television broadcast engineer, I was thrilled when I first read of St. Vidicon. Thank you so much for coming up with the concept and character.

As a perfectionist, though, I feel I must point out what appears to be an inconsistency. The handle color of small screwdrivers indicates the blade size. Yellow-handled screwdrivers are just too large to fit the adjustment screws of broadcast electronics, that's why we use "greenies" - green-handled screwdrivers which have blades small enough to fit the adjustment screws.

Or is this discrepancy just an indication that St. Vidicon and his followers live(d) in an alternate universe?

-Andy
cstasheff
PostsCOLON 114
JoinedCOLON Fri May 21, 2010 4:21 pm

Re: Belated thank you from a television broadcast engineer

Postby cstasheff » Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:30 pm

My memory may be at fault, Andy, but I do remember the shirt-pocked screwdriver from my college days. Please be assured that I'll get the color right in future St. Vidicon books, if there are any.

A female friend of mine (in 1963) went out on a date with our TV engineer and noticed the handle peeking from his shirt pocket. She asked why he wore it, and he said it was kind of like a fraternity pin. She said, :Oh. Can I wear your pin? He said "Sure" and hooked it into the sweater she was wearing. When her roomates saw her the next morning, they asked why, and she said, "I got screwdrivered last night." I'm sure she was talking about drinking her oragne juice with vodka -- or maybe it was milk of magnesia (a Phillips screwdriver)

Thanks for the kind words!

CBS
arfunk
PostsCOLON 2
JoinedCOLON Sat Apr 23, 2011 4:18 pm

Postby arfunk » Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:44 pm

Great story!